17. Joy in the Wait

My husband came home earlier than I expected yesterday and I didn’t hear him come in the door. He turned into the living room and I quickly slammed my laptop shut and tried to hide my earbuds from his sight. He paused in the door frame with a suspicious look on his face.

“You’re home early,” I said coolly.

“Mhmm.”

“Have a good time at work?”

“Yeah, can’t complain.”

I stood, trying to cover the laptop with a throw pillow. “Can I make you some lunch?”

“Whatcha lookin at honey?”

My stealth game is strong.

“Nothing, just sending some e-mails.”

He walked past me, lifted the computer off the couch and opened the screen.

“Gotcha Day videos?”

I shrugged.

“Again? Haven’t you seen this one already?”

I exposed the wad of tissues in my hands admitting that I had in fact binge watched a number of Adoption Day videos, which capture the moment an adoptive family finally meets their son or daughter—so precious! It’s a favorite hobby of mine. All you need is a big bar of chocolate, a huge box of tissues, and your set!

While I thoroughly enjoyed my morning I didn’t intend to be so unproductive. It just happened! Somewhere along the line of my researching how to improve attachment, what to pack for the trip over to Korea, and how the trick my child into sleeping on the plane ride back I got distracted. But I loved what my day turned into! It’s so fun spending time freely looking up whatever questions come to mind, reading first-hand and often hilarious accounts of parenting failures I’m sure to emulate during the placement trip, and Googling Korean phrases and sign language for babies. I laughed, I cried, I researched, I played—all in all it was a great day.

Do I think my time was wasted? Not in the slightest. A common theme throughout this devotion series has been the need to slow down, take a deep breath, and wait on the Lord. But just because we are waiting doesn’t mean we can’t have fun in the process! Make a list this morning of the things that give you joy in your adoption. If you can’t think of anything, then you’ve been working too hard! We want our kids to know we worked our tails off for them, but they will also want to hear how excited and eager we were to bring them into our families. They will want to know that our work and our wait for them brought us more than just suffering and burdens. They want to know we looked forward to their coming with joy and anticipation! A Bible verse I need tattooed on my forehead lately comes from Deuteronomy 8:10 which says, “Go and celebrate with a feast of rich foods and sweet drinks, and share gifts of food with people who have nothing prepared. This is a sacred day before our Lord. Don’t be dejected and sad, for the joy of the Lord is your strength!” As a friend of mine would paraphrase, if God is good, and God made today, then it can’t be a bad day, can it?

She is absolutely right.

So I’m giving you permission today to take a breather, even if it’s for a few minutes, and plan at least one thing you can do this week that will bring you absolute joy. If that means researching baby names with your spouse, go for it. If that means buying a onesie at your favorite baby store, even better. If it means having some friends over and slobbering through a playlist of Adoption Day videos like this hot mess, join the crowd! We might be waiting parents, but we will wait with joy nonetheless!

 

Verses to Consider:

This is the day the Lord has made. We will rejoice and be glad in it. –PSALM 118:24

Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a dream fulfilled is a tree of life. –PROVERBS 13:12

But as for me, I will watch expectantly for the LORD; I will wait for the God of my salvation My God will hear me. –MICAH 7:7

For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory that is to be revealed to us. –ROMANS 8:18

So go ahead. Eat your food with joy, and drink your wine with a happy heart, for God approves of this! –ECCLESIASTES 9:7

 

A Prayer for Your Day:

Lord, thank you for reminding me today that I can still find joy in times of waiting. God my eyes have been fixed on the task you’ve set before me, and while I have worked hard to accomplish this goal, you examine the heart as well, not just my efforts (1 Sam. 16:7). Help me to become vulnerable enough to wonder and become excited about the life you are about to lead me to. It might not all be easy but there will be so many blessings I cannot even imagine yet (Hab. 1:5). I admit I’m afraid to let my guard down sometimes and just sit blissfully in the wonder that you are calling me to be the [mother/father] of this little [boy/girl/child]. Let my joy this morning be an act of worship to you. You are good, and you made this day, so I know it has to be good too.

In Jesus’s name,

Amen.

2 Comments

  1. Amanda

    Yep! Watching those same videos!! Even wondering if it would be possible to hire a photographer in Korea to capture the moment! 🙂 maybe even a whole camera crew! Which is not intimidating at all right? and then I’m sure they will KNOW I’m crazy! All the feels lady, but I’m finding joy today!

    1. adoherty0519

      I thought the same exact thing! I am dying to get photos and videos of that moment for sure, especially the first time we meet to hold us over until the second trip, but I don’t want my kid to think I’m too crazy either! If you come up with any ideas send them my way! And yes, choosing joy!

Leave a Reply

