23. Our God’s a Provider

The past few years, my husband, who is also a teacher, has worked for a moving company owned by our pastor’s brother. It’s a hard job, for sure, but Matt loves the break it offers his mind and the opportunity to be more physically active than the school year allows. I received a text from Matt early this morning saying the company could use some extra help in the coming week. Having enjoyed the past several weeks at home relaxing from a busy school year, I was antsy and just stir-crazy enough to say, “Sure honey, sign me up!” The opportunity to earn some extra money for the crazy year we have ahead of us was welcomed, so I agreed to help without asking any questions. It wasn’t until a friend of mine just minutes ago reminded me of the last time I tried to move furniture that I realized this could be an interesting choice of work for me. I’ll let the picture below illustrate my point:

couch

Needless to say, I’m sure I’ll have a few blog-worthy stories to share by the end of the week! Honestly, it may not be the most glamorous work, but the mamma bear in me has no qualms getting down and dirty for the sake of her new cub. And as so many of you can attest, adoption is quite an expensive endeavor that requires most if not all of whatever nest-egg you set aside for expanding your family. We were blessed that all of our adoption fees have been paid, and by God’s grace we will be able to bring Desi home debt-free. This is not everyone’s story, however. And even though our agency fees have been met, we are now looking ahead at two international trips to a fairly expensive country and a period of maternity leave which will of course affect our finances further. This, along with the expenses of raising a child, is looming hard on our horizon, and it is in times like this I have to almost physically stop myself from crunching numbers and instead remember that the God who has provided from the beginning is the same God who will see this through to the very end. I might not be able to rely on too much extra income in the coming months, but I can be willing to work my tail off to partner alongside my God, who is an awesome provider and has a way of making things work out for the good of his people.

When I think back to the beginning of this adoption, I remember being so aware and trusting in God’s provision. There simply wasn’t a doubt in my mind he wouldn’t pull through. And over the course of several fundraisers, jewelry sales, and the overwhelming generosity of friends and family, it was so apparent to me that God had his hand on this child from day one. And the amazing thing is, it took less than three months between the time of the referral fee and the present to almost completely forget how miraculously he provided for us through this adoption. Three months! Less than a season!

I honestly feel so much like the Hebrews after being rescued out of Egypt. They followed Moses to an impossible barrier—the Red Sea. A watery dead end. And what did they see God do with their own eyes? They saw pillars of fire shoot down from heaven to protect them from the advancing army as they walked across the very sea that God had split in half. They were first-hand witnesses of the parting of the Red Sea, and only two chapters later, you find them wandering the desert, sure that their God was going to abandon them and was about to let them starve.

We so easily roll our eyes at this story thinking, how could they have possibly forgotten the miracle God had just performed to save them from slavery and ever question that God would abandon them? Yet, how many times have we seen God part our own impassible seas only to return to doubt just weeks, months, or years after the miracles we’ve witnessed? It’s in our nature. So much of the Old Testament is a pattern on repeat of God remembering his promises to his people, the people praising God for what he has done, the people forgetting what he has done, a period of waiting, and God’s initiation of his promises again. We are not exceptions to this rule. Even with the gift of the Holy Spirit and the New Covenant of grace, we still just as easily forget. The good news is that God never forgets his promises, even if we do from time to time. And as Philippians 1:6 says, “He who began a good work in you will carry it through to completion.” So the lesson to be learned here is this—we  can either stress about how he will provide as he sees it through, or we can relax and worship him as he sees it through. Either way, his work will be accomplished, but we will have fewer grey hairs on our heads and a much better story to tell our little ones if we just step back and watch God do what he does best.

 

Verses to Consider:

I, the Lord, am your God, Who brought you up from the land of Egypt; Open your mouth wide and I will fill it. –PSALM 81:10

Don’t love money; be satisfied with what you have. For God has said, “I will never fail you. I will never abandon you.” –HEBREWS 13:5

Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they? –MATTHEW 6:26

You didn’t choose me. I chose you. I appointed you to go and produce lasting fruit, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask for, using my name. –JOHN 15:16

 

A Prayer for Your Day:

God, it amazes me how quickly I can go from praising you for the many blessings in my life to stressing over the needs that have not yet been satisfied. You part the seas of seemingly impossible situations, and I immediately move my eyes to the next obstacle instead of fixing them on you. You have never left me in need, and every time I’ve been left wanting, you have revealed that your way was better. God as I watch the many expenses mounding ahead of me on my path to [child’s name], remind me that you gave me your son’s name so that with the smallest bit of faith I can tell the mountain of debt and expenses to move aside and remove its control over my mind and my family (Matt 17:20). There is not a single need you do not know about (Matt. 6:32). Help me rest in this fact today, and help me to shift my eyes away from my doubts and fix them on all that you’ve provided for me thus far. You will help me see this through (Phil. 1:6).

In Jesus’s name,

Amen.

Leave a Reply

